Kye Kye

BROKE

I broke in the silence
to repeat what I’ve done in the past won’t change me (Phil.3:3-11)
I broke when you told me
I could try all the time
but my ways won’t change me  (Eph.2:8-9)(Gal.3:1-3)(Ro.3:20-22)

We tried this, but we failed
we know this but we’re too blind to see (1Cor.2:14) (2Tim.3:7)
that there is freedom within me (Col.1:27) (Ro.6:4)
your life brought light for all to see (Jon.12:46) (Mrk.4:11)

When I was lost so I, so I thought
that I was searching all alone
like I was lost so I didn’t know (Gal.4:1)
what I was keeping all along (Col.1:27) (Ro.8:11)

I knew from the moment my mistakes all stood out
your light’s my only safety (Ro.10:3-13)
oh all the times that I didn’t look your way (Mat.13:22)
look what I was missing lord you fill in every space
that I replaced instead of you (Eze.36:26-27)

Revived us, we will sing (Eph.2:4-6)
restored us, you are the source to breath (Jon.4:14)
ignite us to a need to bury everything I never want to be (Ro.8:13-14)

Kye Kye is a unique indie electronic band that has appeared on the music scene just a few years ago. Their latest album, Young Love, debuted in 2010. Kye Kye is made up of four very humble people: Olga, Timothy, and Alex Yagolnikoc and Olga’s husband Tommy. I had the privilege to meet and work with these artists for a coffeehouse and they were the most genuine artists that I have ever met.  Kye Kye are inspired from, as shown above, Scripture. Each of their songs include Scripture passages, shown on their blog on tumblr. TUMBLR

This song, Broke, is my favorite of from their album Young Love. BROKE: This particular song displays some of their electronic elements that they use. Their system is a digital set up that records live and plays back with a few seconds delay. Their keyboardist, explained that, sometimes the playback does not playback what he plays for several seconds. This system requires extreme musicianship and I was quite impressed with their talent.

To describe their music in my own words, I would call it a soothing new sound. Most electronic music (or at least the electronic genre), I considered dance music or music that helps you stay awake. Kye Kye’s music, I would have to say is relaxing. Olga’s voice isn’t a piercing sound; but a very clear angelic sound. I love the insight of the lyrics and the Christian values of the artist. So, sit back, relax, and listen to some beautiful new sounds, brought to you by: KYE KYE!

4 thoughts on “Kye Kye

  1. ch758159 says:

    Kye Kye puts on a fantastic live show. It really impressed me to see the techniques and effects they used for their music. One of the things that was interesting to me was the way they used the guitars. They often used reverse effects on their guitars to add in some light texture behind the synth sounds. The second thing that was really unique was their drum kit. Before the drums were played through the system they sounded very tight and thin sounding. When effects were put on them they were full and very electronic sounding. I think they may have put some reverb on them and equalized them to sound the way they do. Overall it was a very creative way to play music that made me very interested.

    • That is nice to hear a group using live recording with effects, instead of simply looping sounds. Signal processing adds a whole new world of timbral possibilities, as Chris points out. Thanks for sharing, Lydia!

  2. wumbologist says:

    I agree, their live performance is quite impressive. They are able to achieve their live “sound” with a single full-size keyboard (utilizing MIDI), a couple of electric guitars, and an acoustic drum kit. I’ve had the chance to talk to the drummer about his set, and he actually had it custom made to fit their particular sound (talk about dedication to your music). The idea behind his drum kit was to have drums that were wide, but shallow; that way the sound could be punchy and full, but not ‘over-resonate’ and muddy up the rest of their sound. The effect was a drum kit that actually sounded somewhat like an electronic kit, but had all the power of an acoustic set. Along with some amplification and impressive subwoofers, they created one amazing show.

  3. Adam Tasma says:

    I remember when they came to SAU, I also remember getting a headache, but I think that was the light show. I love love loved their sound

Leave a Reply

